Daffodils

Daffodils

” I wandered lonely as a cloud that floats on high o’er vales and hills.
When all at once I saw a crowd, a host of golden daffodils.
Beside the lake, beneath the trees
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze” William Wordsworth English poet 1888

The  crowd of daffodils which bloom every year in the Begijnhof courtyard are worthy of Wordsworth’s poem! I have been waiting…watching….. every day and then all of a sudden,as if in a moment, the courtyard is filled and covered with the merry dancing blooms. I love it and I never tire of watching them. Tourists swarm around the daffodils taking photos from every angle conceivable, with and without their compatriots in the photos.  Unfortunately in their exuberance, the delicate daffodil stems are trampled by the tourists trying to fetch the best photo op. It clearly states to stay on the paths but some either can not read or do not care! The solid yellow daffodils come first and then the white and yellow ones. Presently the courtyard is all a buttery yellow but the white and yellow daffodils are waiting to burst into bloom.

Another bloom, a Dutch mauve wooden tulpen/ tulip has found a home on my desk; a visitor from Nederlands to the guesthouse, brought me this lovely painted wooden tulip from Holland. Maybe, next year, I will make a day trip to Holland to see these blooms ‘for real’! It is not far by train to see the gardens and blankets of colorful and  famous tulips. This trip is one I have never made and a sight I have never seen so it goes on my hope to do list.  American friends are considering a Nederlands visit  for the tulip festival so  that would make a great occasion! My prayer list for sure!

Daffs1

 

Leave a Reply

