Following the threads

LaceLace, an old monastery craft, is why I came to Bruges. The threads of lace have crossed and twisted their way through my own life, as well as the history of Bruges. My Prioress wanted to add lace to the sacred artistic outreaches of the Community of Jesus. Nuns have made lace for priests` surplices, altar cloths, Eucharistic linens, and also for contemplation for centuries. Historically, nuns taught poor women, single women, widows and girls lace as a way to provide for themselves. Madeleine, my namesake, was not only an educational teacher of women but a maker and teacher of lace. The lace thread seems perfect to have been passed to me, as I have always loved lace.

Leave a Reply

